MCA Structure

MCA Committees

The MCA has three main committees ( Executive, Education and Journal) and one sub committee ( Investment & Strategy). Every committee reports to the Executive Committee and at least one member of each committee is on the Executive board.  Each committee is an essential part of ensuring that the MCA meets it's objectives.

The Executive Committee and Investment & Strategy Sub Committee are both chaired by Professor Colin Drummond:

Professor Colin Drummond, MBChB, MD, FRCP, FRCPsych, FRCGP(Hon), Professor of Addiction Psychiatry, Head of the Alcohol Research Group, and Consultant Psychiatrist at the National Addiction Centre, Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience, King’s College London and South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust. Professor Drummond is the Chairman of the Medical Council on Alcohol and will be welcoming all delegates.

The Education Committee is chaired by Dr Iain Smith:

The Journal Committee is chaired by Dr Peter Rice:

Dr Peter Rice, FRCPsych, is the Chair of SHAAP and is a former Consultant Psychiatrist, NHS Tayside Alcohol Problems Service and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Medical School, University of Dundee. He has researched and published on health information and communication, on the counselling relationship in alcohol misuse treatment, as well as on more traditional medical topics such as cell changes in oral cancer. He is involved in strategic issues both locally and nationally, in the planning and delivering of integrated, multi-agency care and treatment.


Medical Director: Dr DA Florin

Executive Assistant and Office Manager: Aline Oshima

Administrative Assistant: Clare Farrow

Auditors: Goldwyns


The MCA is affiliated to a range of different organisations.  For more details please click here.